Mini Reviews #9 Heaven’s Crooked Finger & Lie To Me

MINI REVIEWS (3).png

Happy Saturday! Today I’ll talk about my most recent reads.

34507291

Buy Here

Earl Marcus thought he had left the mountains of Georgia behind forever, and with them, the painful memories of a childhood spent under the fundamental rule of his father RJ’s church–a church built on fear, penance, and the twisting, writhing mass of snakes. But then an ominous photo of RJ is delivered to Earl’s home. The photograph is dated long after his father’s burial, and there’s no doubt that the man in the picture is very much alive. As Earl returns to Church of the Holy Flame searching for the truth, faithful followers insist that his father has risen to a holy place high in the mountains. Nobody will talk about the teenage girls who go missing, only to return with strange tattoo-like marks on their skin. Rumors swirl about an old well that sits atop one of the mountains, a place of unimaginable power and secrets. Earl doesn’t know what to believe, but he has long been haunted by his father, forever lurking in the shadows of his life. Desperate to leave his sinful Holy Flame childhood in the past, Earl digs up deeply buried secrets to discover the truth before time runs out and he’s the one put underground in Heaven’s Crooked Finger.

This was a novel that really caught my attention because of the creepy/amazing cover and, of course, the intriguing blurb. I usually love this kind of southern-gothic-horror novels about families and dark secrets. I was sure I was going to enjoy it. And I certainly did, but unfortunately, not as much as I had hoped.

Don’t get me wrong, this was an ok book. The mystery was appealing enough, it was easy to read and it didn’t drag. There were some twists and turns and the setting was undoubtedly a great one. However, I never felt that “spark”, I never really connected with the characters or the story, I felt mostly uninterested when it should’ve been the opposite. In the end, I guess this happens sometimes. Some books win you over and others don’t.

Heaven’s Crooked Finger was a good gothic mystery and an interesting beginning for what it seems it’ll be a series featuring Earl Marcus. Don’t hesitate and give it a chance if the blurb catches your eye. You might love it (I know some have!).

Netgalley, Crooked Lane Books, 2017

33258453.jpg

Buy Here

Sutton and Ethan Montclair’s idyllic life is not as it appears. The couple seems made for each other, but the truth is ugly. Consumed by professional and personal betrayals and financial woes, the two both love and hate each other. As tensions mount, Sutton disappears, leaving behind a note saying not to look for her. Ethan finds himself the target of vicious gossip as friends, family and the media speculate on what really happened to Sutton Montclair. As the police investigate, the lies the couple have been spinning for years quickly unravel. Is Ethan a killer? Is he being set up? Did Sutton hate him enough to kill the child she never wanted and then herself? The path to the answers is full of twists that will leave the reader breathless.

Lie To Me is a gripping and easy-to-read domestic thriller that is perfect for fans of Gone Girl and toxic marriage books. Is it entertaining? Definitely! Did I love it? I’m afraid not.

It seems like I’m in the minority once again. I enjoyed the first half of Lie To Me, although I kept thinking I had read too many similar books in the past. However, I expected something much more unique and special based on some reviews I had read. I think this is merely a case of not being the right reader for this book, at least not at this moment. The first part of the book was fun and I was definitely curious. What was going on? Should I believe Ethan? Or was he lying? Who’s the mysterious narrator? Unfortunately, it all fell flat for me when I began reading the second half. I found the ending part too unbelievable even for my taste. I never bought the villain’s motives and I thought the whole final act was over the top, it never clicked for me. Plus, the last chapter made things even worse.

Gone Girl is one of my favorite books and I think it’s also because the genre wasn’t so popular back then. I loved the psychology of it all, the way Gillian Flynn made each twist believable because of every character’s personality. I’m sad to say I never felt this with Lie To Me.

Netgalley, MIRA Books, 2017

Advertisements

Published by

Annie

In a past life, I was probably a tortured police detective with a dark and traumatic past. Right now, however, I'm just a twenty-something bookworm who loves listening to old songs and watching 90s movies. I enjoy mystery and crime, southern coming of age stories and historical fiction set in the last century.

19 thoughts on “Mini Reviews #9 Heaven’s Crooked Finger & Lie To Me

  1. Like you, I loved Gone Girl, but almost every book I’ve read that’s been compared to it has fallen short for me. Sounds like Lie to Me might be another one that doesn’t quite deliver.

    Like

  2. I’m disappointed to hear you didn’t love Lie To Me. I’ve seen lots of great reviews on it so I was looking forward to that one. I’ll still plan on reading it at some point, but I’ll try to lower my expectations a bit.

    Like

  3. I haven’t read either of these but it’s nearly impossible to have the same experience as we had with Gone Girl. She was the first and she’s the only 🙂 although sometimes there are books that come along that remind me of it and even if it’s not the same, I see some of Amy in it :-). I just read The Perfect Girlfriend and she’s quite good at playing the game as well :-). I heard great things about Lie to Me so I hope I haven’t set myself up for disappointment either. I’m actually happy to read a review with another opinion 🙂

    Like

    1. Yeah, I don’t know why it didn’t work for me but I felt terrible for not loving it as much as I hoped! I just thought the whole ending was all over the place. I’ll check out Perfect Girlfriend!!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Wonderful reviews Annie. I loved Gone Girls, book and movie are quite memorable. Lie to me sounds good though I know it wouldn’t work for me either if I read it now since I am taking a break from the genre but maybe someday. That said, there will never be another Gone Girl. I wish publishers would stop with the comparison already.

    Like

  5. That is too bad about Lie to Me. It sounded very promising. I think I may keep it on my list but go into it with your thoughts in mind so high expectations do not overshadow my experience. Too often we make that comparison to Gone Girl and it just doesn’t happen. I love your mini reviews!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s